Adventures in Running

Silhouetted Woman Running on Trail at SunsetFor some reason, I decided to sign up for a half-marathon that will take place in California, in September.  I signed up in January and here we are in May, and I don’t feel like I am going to be anywhere near prepared by the time this run comes up.  Granted it is only May, but it is time to put my ass in gear.  I mean, most weeks I work out three to five times a week.  Usually I run about a mile to warm up and then lift weights.  Sometimes I do weights and other times I do  body weight sessions.  But, I only run about once or twice a week.  Last week, I didn’t run any times, and I regret it.

Most training plans that work towards a half marathon are completed over the course of a twelve week period.  As of tomorrow, I will be seventeen and a half weeks away from my very first ever, in my life, half-marathon.  Ok, so I still have plenty of time to prepare and get myself ready.  It is just.so.hard. to get motivated to run in Colorado.  Seriously.  I love Colorado and everything about it, except running in Colorado.  If you have never run at higher elevation, I highly recommend against it.  It sucks worse than you can imagine.  It is hard and makes you feel like you cannot breathe at all.  Your whole body will feel great, but because of a reduction in oxygen due to the elevation, it is difficult to maintain steady breathing.  I know that when I run the half-marathon, I will be running at sea level, and that gives me a little bit of motivation and hope.  However, I still have to train for the race, so I have no choice but to run here.  I have to get in the miles before the half or else I really will be hurting on race day.

I ran today and it was the furthest I have run since I have lived in Colorado.  Today I ran (and walked some) four and a half miles.  Before today the furthest I’d gone was four miles.  I did run more than I walked and I wasn’t too disappointed with my time.  Obviously, I have a lot of room for improvement and that is okay, because at least I am getting the miles in.  But I am so slow, which is a bit discouraging, but I know I  will get faster with time.  Today my goal was two miles, but then I got to a mile and I felt good so I decided to keep running, so I did.  Then I got to a point where I just had to keep going because that was the only way I was going to get home.  It was windy and I got a little bit bored, so I challenged myself and started running sprints into the wind.  Good decision?  Maybe not during because it was brutal, but I figure if I could run sprints into the wind that would help increase my time.  Plus it kept me interested and prevented me from getting bored.  It didn’t matter anyway if I was bored or not.  By this time, I was a mile and a half away from home and the only way to get home was to run.

I will go back out in two days.  Tomorrow is a weight-lifting day, so my plan is to do my mile warm-up and lift weights.  Then on Thursday I will run again.  Hopefully I will be able to either get in some distance or I will be able to do a shorter distance at a faster pace.  Either way, I am determined to get through this training so I can have a successful first half-marathon with at least a decent finish time.

 

Leave a Reply

