Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is such a great day.  It is a day where Mom’s all around the world are honored, remembered, and get extra love.  I don’t really like it when people say, “well Mom’s should be appreciated every day of the year, not just on one day of the year.”  That isn’t the point of Mother’s Day and there will be nay-sayers no matter who is recognized on what day (that’s a whole different story).  Anyway, it is a special day to celebrate mother’s still living and those who are no longer with us.  I am fortunate, though, that my mom is still alive and although I do not say it every day, I am very appreciative of my mom and all the sacrifices she has made in her life for my sister and I, and our Dad.  She is such an awesome, special lady and I wouldn’t be who I am today without her guidance, love, and support.

According to Wikipedia (the best [unreliable] source there ever was), the first modern celebration of Mother’s Day was in 1908, 108 years ago!  Furthermore, Mother’s Day is a celebration honoring the mother of the family, as well as motherhood, maternal bonds, and the influence of mothers in society.  Oh, and did you know that in 1912 Anna Jarvis trademarked Mother’s Day and specifically noted that “Mother’s” should be singularly possessive, for each family to honor its own mother, not a plural possessive commemorating all mothers in the world.  That doesn’t mean that mothers throughout the world are not honored and recognized, but that each family is responsible for honoring their matriarch.  I thought it was pretty interesting that Anna Jarvis intentionally made the term Mother’s Day singularly possessive.

Nowhere, though, in that description does it say anything about “…but the child honoring the mother must come from that woman’s body [birth]”.  I think that is pretty awesome that there is not a specific of what constitutes a “mother”.  It took me a long time to realize that I am a mother.  To five kids, in fact.  And of those five kids, I have a granddaughter.  Yes, at the tender age of 29 years old, I became a grandmother (another story for another day).  Had it not been for one of my [step] children, I wouldn’t have become a Gigi to this crazy little girl who stole my heart.  20160313_154058

On Mother’s Day, I was able to Facebook chat with my son, his wife, and their daughter.  They called me on video chat on their own accord to tell me “Happy Mother’s Day”.  No one provoked them or reminded them.  They did it because it was Mother’s Day.  I will never be able to express in this blog or in my words how much that meant to me.  I also got a beautiful bouquet of flowers from my in-laws who thanked me for being such a great step-mom to their grandchildren, and told me Happy Mother’s Day.  That was so sweet and so special to me.  The icing on the cake was when one of my girls (one of the twins) called her dad’s cell phone and he answered.  She (Caitie) talked to him for a minute, but then told him, “Dad, I didn’t call to talk to you.  I need to talk to Jackie.”  I got on the phone with her and she said, “Well, I just wanted to call you and tell you Happy Mother’s Day.”  That was so sweet and thoughtful, and meant so much to me.  I couldn’t believe she thought of calling me to tell me Happy Mother’s Day.

Sometimes it is a hard realization to know that I don’t have any kids “of my own”, but then I remember: I do.  I have five of them.  Five kids who I love and adore dearly, and who [I think :)] love me, too.  Just because I didn’t give birth to them or see them grow up, doesn’t mean I don’t count.  Because I do.  All step-parents matter, and they should be allowed to celebrate that day, too; regardless if they are a biological parent or not.

 

 

Leave a Reply

