Some battles aren’t worth fighting…

…has been a mantra in my house for the last five weeks and it really is the truth.  Although I find it hard to believe, some people may not know that Jesica came to live with us at the end of October.  The circumstances behind that decision are completely irrelevant at this point.  Bill and I really enjoy having her here and I would not trade it for anything in this world.  We have so much fun and cannot imagine her not being here, but it isn’t always perfect.  Take tonight for example.

We have a really good schedule and 6:30 is bath time.  It is the same schedule every night.  Come home, play, dinner, bath, play, bedtime.  We keep it structured around here and it works so well.  Most of the time.  Tonight after her bath, she absolutely did not want to get dressed.  Turns out she didn’t want to get dressed in the nightgown Bill had laid out for her.  It was Minnie Mouse and she LOVES Minnie.  Yet for some reason she was not interested in that specific nightgown.  Cue meltdown.  So I opened her pajama drawer and let her pick the pajamas she wanted to wear tonight.  Whatever.  What did she pick?  The shirt and pants that have Mickey, Minnie, Donald, and Daisy.  Then she just had to put her pants on herself.  Okkkk.  I wish I would have gotten a picture of how she looked once she got her pants over her booty.  She looked like Steve Urkel with her shirt tucked in her pants.

But then the sweetest thing happened.  She looked me dead in the eyes and said, “Smart?”  That was when I broke down crying.  I can’t really even explain why I started crying.  I am so proud to be raising such a smart, sweet, eager, independent, funny little girl.  She drives me just as crazy as I probably drive her.  We bump heads but so much more frequently than that, we don’t.  She is so independent and so often wants to do things herself, like picking which pajamas she wants to wear and putting them on herself.  Sometimes I forget that she is two and doesn’t need me to help her with every single thing she does.

I have never raised a child before, so I know I don’t always get it right.  What I do know is I love this baby and something tells me she loves me, too.

mygirl

2 thoughts on “Some battles aren’t worth fighting…

  1. Life is a beautiful thing and sharing it with someone you love and who adores you back is an amazing feeling. Keep doing what your doing and nothing else will matter. The only thing we humans need is Love and you are doing exactly that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

