New Year’s Resolut…goals

I am not a huge resolutioner (yes, that is a word) when it comes to the New Year.  I really don’t focus on the whole “new year, new me” jargon.  Resolutions, to me, are not something that just happen with the introduction of a new year.  I mean, most people aren’t one way on December 31st and suddenly change at 12:01 on the onset of a new year.  Amiright?  So I don’t really label my plans for a new year as a “resolution”.  All of us should always strive to be a better us than the day or even year before.  I, instead, like to focus on what goals I would like to accomplish in the coming year.

The New Year is a fresh start and a perfect opportunity to reflect on the previous year and think of how we could and would like to become better us’s.  Last year I had two big goals: start a Master’s program and complete my very first half marathon. I am very proud to say that I did both!  In February I started on my Master’s degree and in September I ran my first half marathon.  Check that blog out here.  Without going into too much detail, that was a huge deal for me.  Although I have slacked big time in the running department since then, I am still in awe I completed it.

Yesterday when I went back to work, my staff and I sat down with each other for over an hour and reflected on our holidays and what we hope to achieve for the coming year.  It was great that we did that; it had been about two weeks or so since we were all together.  Each of us talked about what we did for the holidays, and what we wanted to accomplish in the coming year.  I said a couple of things, but when I got home yesterday evening, I was really reflecting on what I want to do in 2017.

Here are some ideas I have:
1) Run another half marathon.
2) And then run another half marathon.
3) Focus on my time on both halfs, instead of just finishing.
4) Goal time for the first: 2:30
5) Goal time for the second: 2:15 (I think I can, I think I can)
6) Be a kinder, gentler me.  In fact, I told my staff I was going to be nicer.  I am not a mean person, but I could certainly stand to be a little more patient and understanding.
7) Focus on me.  This one is a bit hard to describe.  I think we all neglect ourselves a little bit.  I don’t mean just physically, but in other ways too.  Ways such as:not being so hard on myself.  It is ok if we fail sometimes; I mean after-all, we are human.  Sometimes I am so hard on myself that I cause unneeded stress and anxiety when it could be completely avoided.  I am going to work on that.  This also includes writing more.  I love to write, but I neglect it too often.  I want to change that.
8) Be more forgiving of others.  If someone does something that upsets me or bothers me, I need to be more forgiving.  We just never know what someone else is going through.  When I think about some of the things I have been through, it pains me to think of something someone may have said to upset me, not knowing I was going through a painful time.  I would hate to think that there have been times when I wasn’t kind to someone and they may have been having the worst day of their life.  I don’t want to leave that kind of impression on someone.
9) Read more books.  I love reading, but I am sorry to admit that I did not read as many books this year as I have in the past.  I will be deployed for a good portion of the year, so I will have plenty of time to read books.  I am going to take advantage of that.
10) Finish my Master’s degree with no less than a 3.95 GPA.  My GPA was a 4.0 for a long time, but an A- made it go down.  I have two classes left until I graduate(!) and I want to keep my GPA where it is, or bring it up a little bit.

Those are the ones I came up with.  What kind of goals do you have for 2017?  What are you going to do to accomplish those goals?  I am interested in what others have to say.  I hope in some way I have been able to inspire someone.

Good luck and welcome 2017.

Leave a Reply

