Deployment Chronicles Pt Dos

do-not-touch-what-s-not-yours

I have a serious problem with people today.

I am about 42 days into this deployment and today was the first day that I have truly been irritated by a multitude of people.

It is never easy going into a new team, no matter where you go.  New bases are typically easier though because the incoming person is the new guy (or girl).  Everyone else has been there longer, so it is just one person adapting to the change.  Deployments are much different.

On a deployment, it is cycle-based so everyone is new all at the same time.  All of the people on my staff will be here until July or August.  Even though I was one of the last ones to get here, I will be the second to leave.  On deployments, everyone has to start from the beginning on getting to know each other and finding happy medium.  The forming of a team with a bunch of different personalities from different bases is all happening at once in a very small amount of time.  The phases of team-building have to happen really quickly because six months is not a long time.  Prior to today, I have been pretty patient with the whole process and people as a whole.

Today, I feel, was my breaking point.  Today I was more vocal about the things that were bothering me.  Simple things that people should have learned as children.  Something as small as not messing with people’s personal property.  Simple stuff, right?  Maybe not.

On three separate occasions today, I witnessed people messing with stuff that was not their personal stuff, but someone else’s.  Examples such as: an individual picking up someone’s food off their desk and helping their self to it, without permission; going through someone’s personal package they received from back home, without permission; taking an item someone received in a personal care package from home, without asking permission to use it.  Each of these things really bothered me, to the point where I said something about it each time.  Of course each time I brought it to the offender’s attention, it was excused by something lame like, “I didn’t know…”, or “I wasn’t sure”.  To which I dismissed that with, “You knew it wasn’t yours, right?  So why mess with something that isn’t yours?”  Thankfully the bell that signaled the end of the day rang and I left.  It was a good thing, though, because I had reached my limit of disrespectful people for the day and I was so over it.

Disrespect.  That is what it boils down to.  It is a blatant disrespect for other people’s personal property.  I get it; we are in a deployed environment.  We don’t have our families here.  All we have is each other.  Okay, fine.  That doesn’t give anyone a right to disrespect or pilfer through other’s personal items.  I am all about being comfortable with the people we work with, but there has to be some kind of line drawn.  Unless I invite someone to look through my packages I receive or eat my snacks, or use something of mine, I fully expect them to keep their hands off my stuff.  That is the kind of respect I offer to others and I appreciate the same in return.

I hope that by me saying things to people about leaving others’ stuff alone, they will be more aware of what they are doing and STOP!

As for me, when I receive packages I will be sure to open it in my room instead of at work.

Leave a Reply

